Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Sound of Music Presented by the Charleston Light Opera Guild (School Performance)

January 23, 2020 @ 9:30 am

The Sound of Music, co-presented by Charleston Light Opera Guild and The Clay Center
Thursday, January 23 | 9:30AM

Set in 1938, The Sound of Music with music by Richard Rodgers, lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II and book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse is based on Maria von Trapp’s autobiography, The Story of the Trapp Family Singers. This final collaboration between the epoch-making team of Rodgers & Hammerstein was destined to become the world’s most beloved musical. When a postulant proves too high-spirited for the religious life, she is dispatched to serve as governess for the seven children of a widowed naval Captain. Her growing rapport with the youngsters, coupled with her generosity of spirit, gradually captures the heart of the stern Captain, and they marry. Upon returning from their honeymoon they discover that Austria has been invaded by the Nazis, who demand the Captain’s immediate service in their navy. The family’s narrow escape over the mountains to Switzerland on the eve of World War II provides one of the most thrilling and inspirational finales ever presented in theatre. The motion picture version remains the most popular movie musical of all time.

The cast is headed by Rudi Arrowood as Maria, Chris Terpening as Captain von Trapp, Dionne Canterbury as Mother Abbess and Emma Alley, Benjamin Valleau, Bria White, Zene Cooper, Marleigh Adkins, Kate Erlewine and Lucia Lipton as the Captain’s seven children. Supporting roles are Jamison Miller as Max Detweiler, Erika Hogge as Elsa Schraeder, Dakota Burdette as Rolf Gruber, Anna Myers as Sister Margaretta, Samantha Hight as Sister Sophia, Julie Miller as Sister Berthe, Patricia Rogers as Frau Schmidt, Mark Felton as Franz, Jim Damron as Herr Zeller, Clint Thomas as Admiral Von Shreiber and Marc D. Golden as Baron Elberfeld. Additional cast members are Finn Alpers, Kaylee Burdette, Hannah Bird, Andrea Elkins, Alex Fox, Olivia Hughes, Anne Marie Haddy, Stevie Jenkins, Grace Walker-Matthews, Hannah O’Brien, Elaina Smith, Meredith Aliff, Blaine Miller and Delaney Wells. The production, directed and choreographed by Nina Denton Pasinetti, features a full orchestra, headed by pianist John Patrick and conducted by musical director David Patrick, with professional sets and costumes and is under the technical direction of Thomas P. Pasinetti.


January 23, 2020
9:30 am
Event Categories: