childworkshops-subpage-ASEC-header.gif

Step out of the classroom and into a world of adventure with workshops for students in grades 1 – 5. An all-new season of after school programs kicks off in September. Check out the full schedule below. Workshops take place 3:30 – 5:30 pm. Registration opens soon! Workshops include hands-on science experiments and challenging activities. $20 per session; just $15 for members; $90 for all six sessions or $75 for members. 
Pre-registration with payment is required.
 
Crypto Mania: The Science of Cipher & Codes 
 
Thursday, September 25
Explore the science, math and FUN of solving secret messages and codes! We’ll wrap up with a treasure hunt through the galleries. Are you up for the challenge?
Registration Deadline: Monday, September 22
 
Nature Sculptures
Thursday, October 9
Create with nature at Kanawha State Forest!  Join us at the forest to learn about artist Andy Goldsworthy and create inspired sculptures from the land around you.
Registration Deadline: Tuesday, October 7
 
Bee Hotel
Thursday, October 23
Build a section of prime bee real estate to contribute to our newest addition to the garden, a Bee Hotel!
Registration Deadline: Tuesday, October 21
 
All About Owls
Thursday, November 6
Did you ever wonder why owls have giant eyes or if they can really turn their heads all the way around? Come find out as we learn all about owls!
Registration Deadline: Tuesday, November 4

Many Cultures, One Story
Thursday, November 20
Explore different cultures’ versions of Cinderella. Next, it’s your turn to put your own spin on this classic tale!
Registration Deadline: Tuesday, November 18
 
Winter Wonders
Thursday, December 4
Discover why no two snowflakes are alike, animal survival techniques and how different cultures embrace winter in this cool workshop.
Registration Deadline: Tuesday, December 2
funding provided by: accessibility: find us on: contact us press room privacy statement email sign-up employment

WV Division of Culture and History WV Fund for the Arts national Endowment for the Arts

facebook twitter flickr rss feed Copyright © 2001 - 2012 Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences of West Virginia. All rights reserved. Content Management Solutions By TERRADON Communications Group, LLC